HOSA Members Named U.S. Presidential Scholars

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

In 2017, there were over 5,300 applicants, 161 finalists with three HOSA members being recognized: 

- Jada Holliday, Broken Arrow High School, OK, National Executive Council - HOSA's Region I Vice President; local advisor:  Sam Ramsey
- Anne Clark, Timpview High School, UT, local advisor:  Denise Abbott
-Sanjana Duggirala, Health Science Academy at Mercer County Technical Schools, NJ; local advisor: Daniel Sbar

The 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be honored by the White House at a Dinner at The Kennedy Center on June 19 in Washington, DC.   There is a National Recognition Program for all scholars in Washington, D.C., June  18-20. 

For a full list of all candidates, semifinalists and other information about the Presidential Scholars Program, go to: http://www.presidentialscholars.org/

Congratulations to Jada Anne, and Sanjana!