2017 HOSA International Leadership Conference Highlights

Over 10,128 HOSA members, advisors and guests participated in HOSA's International Leadership Conference in Orlando, FL, June 21-24, 2017.  HOSA-Future Health Professionals from all over the country, Canada, American Samoa and Puerto Rico came together to compete, learn and share their HOSA experiences.  Conference highlights included 57 health-related competitive events, 128 educational workshops, and a keynote address from author, Paralympian and motivational speaker, Josh Sundquist. 

HOSA was extremely pleased to recognize 91 HOSA members who received $98,500 in scholarships at the national level. This year HOSA's state and national scholarship programs awarded HOSA members $451,108 in scholarships.

View photo gallery of HOSA Scholarship Sponsors and Recipients

As a part of HOSA's Opening Session, five outstanding individuals were inducted in the HOSA Hall of Fame. The HOSA Hall of Fame recognizes individuals and companies who have rendered outstanding service to HOSA, health and biomedical science education and the health industry. This year’s Hall of Fame members included: Ada Toyama, Hawaii State Advisor; Tim Klein, Local Advisor, Palmdale High School, California; Victoria Matthews, HOSA Member, AACT, Nevada; Rick Garcia, HOSA Alumnus, Washington, D.C.; and the U.S. Army.  HOSA also recognized two new members of the HOSA-100 National Advisory Council, Dr. Saralyn Mark, Solamed Solutions LLC and iGiant; and Dr. Michael Manyak, GlaxoSmithKline.  

During the annual Business Session, the voting delegates elected eight outstanding HOSA members to serve on the Executive Council. Congratulations to President, Priya Rathakrishnan (GA); President-Elect, Sarah Fleischman (FL); Western Region Vice President, Jeswin Vennatt (TX); Central Region Vice President, Joey Greenstein, (MI); Eastern Region Vice President, Olivia Datta (GA); Postsecondary/Collegiate Vice President, Irfan Khan (FL); Secondary Board Representative, Arjun Keshava (NC); and Postsecondary/Collegiate Board Representative,  LeAna Troung (OR).  

Read more about the 2017-2018 Executive Council.

The HOSA, Inc. Board of Directors elected three new members to the board: HOSA Local Advisor Western Region, Mae Dorado (HI); HOSA Local Advisor Eastern Region, Charmane Freeman-Greene (SC); and Health Care Industry Representative, CMDR Thomas Pryor (MD).  

2017-2018 HOSA, Inc. Board of Directors

This year 7,446 competitors competed in 57 competitive events demonstrating competencies developed through Health Science and Biomedical Science class instruction, technical training and HOSA activities. HOSA congratulates all middle school, secondary and postsecondary/collegiate winners in this year's competitive events program.  

View the complete list of competitive event winners.  

View photo gallery of 2017 finalists.  

HOSA-Future Health Professionals is looking forward to a great 2017-2018 with a membership goal of 225,000 and the 2017-2018 theme is Create Your Future.

Download the 2017-2018 Theme Artwork.